porfirio floorBURBANK— State Senator Mike Porfirio announced that 12 school districts across the area will receive over $6.2 million in additional funding to help address the financial challenges of recent years.

“Evidence-based funding supports educational opportunities that contribute to the long-term success of our students,” said Porfirio (D-Lyons Township). “Through this funding formula, we can ensure that a solid foundation for improving education systems across the state is being laid, creating a positive ripple effect that extends beyond the classroom.”

The funding comes from the 2017 Illinois Senate Democrat-backed evidence-based funding formula — an overhaul of the way the state funds K-12 education. The law made school funding more equitable by calculating the needs of individual school districts and basing its state revenue on those needs. The formula takes into account a district’s total enrollment, poverty rate and number of special education or English language learners, among other factors.

Local schools set to receive funding through the formula:

  • Sterling Morton High School District 201: $2,154,390
  • Cicero School District 99: $986,847
  • Berwyn North School District 98: $894,808
  • Argo Community High School District 217: $726,647
  • Burbank School District 111: $635,647
  • Riverside Brookfield Township District 208: $455,014
  • Summit School District 104: $145,686
  • Lyons School District 103: $106,047
  • Reavis High School District 220: $52,716
  • La Grange School District 102: $44,106
  • Lyons Township High School District 204: $3,708
  • LaGrange School District 105 (South): $1,105

The Fiscal Year 2024 budget invested $350 million in new funding into students’ success through the evidence-based funding model.

For more information on the FY 24 evidence-based funding distribution, visit the Illinois State Board of Education’s website.